PROFESSORS

Alex O. Aning Alex O. Aning
Associate Professor
Ph.D.,1982, University of Missouri-Rolla Materials Processing, Mechanical Alloying, Noncrystalline and Nanocrystalline Alloys aaning@vt.edu (540) 231-6849
Stephen L. Kampe Stephen L. Kampe
Professor
Ph.D., 1987, Michigan Technological University Materials Processing, Composites, Mechanical Behavior kampe@vt.edu (540) 231-8688
Levon V. Asryan Levon V. Asryan
Associate Professor
Ph.D., 1988, Ioffe Institute of Physics and Technology, St. Petersburg, Russia Semiconductors, Optoelectronics, Nanophotonics, Quantum Dot Lasers asryan@mse.vt.edu (540) 231-7033
Kathryn V. Logan Kathryn V. Logan, PE
Virginia Tech Langley Professor
Ph.D., 1992, Georgia Institute of Technology Multi-functional Materials, Design of Materials klogan@mse.vt.edu (540) 231-2080
Jesse J. Brown Jr. Jesse J. Brown Jr.
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., 1964, Pennsylvania State University Ceramics, Refractories, Phase Equilibria jjbrown@vt.edu (540) 231-6777
Brian J. Love Brian J. Love
Professor
Ph.D., 1990, Southern Methodist University Polymeric Based Adhesives, Interfacial Surface Analysis, Biomaterials, Polymer Dielectrics, Composites blove@vt.edu (540) 231-3186
David E. Clark David E. Clark, PE
Professor and Department Head
Ph.D., 1976, University of Florida Ceramics, Microwaves, Sol-Gel, Glass Corrosion, Ceramic Superconductors dclark@vt.edu (540) 231-6640
Peizhen Kathy Lu Peizhen Kathy Lu
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., 2000, Ohio State University Nanomaterials, Graded Materials, Multifunctional Materials, Material Design klu@mse.vt.edu (540) 231-3225
Richard O. Claus Richard O. Claus
Lewis A. Hester Professor, MSE & ECE
Ph.D., 1977, Johns Hopkins University Fiber Optics, Optical Materials and Applications roclaus@vt.edu (540) 231-7203
Guo-Quan (GQ) Lu Guo-Quan (GQ) Lu
Professor, MSE & ECE
Ph.D., 1990, Harvard University Synthesis and Processing of Materials, Reliability Evaluation, Semiconductor Materials, Solid State Lighting Systems gqlu@vt.edu (540) 231-8686
Sean G. Corcoran Sean G. Corcoran
Associate Professor
Ph.D., 1994, Johns Hopkins University Corrosion, Electrochemical Modification of Materials, Nanoporous Metals sgc@vt.edu (540) 357-0188
Marie C. Paretti Marie C. Paretti
Assistant Professor, EngE
Director, MSE/ESM Advanced Engineering Communications Program
Ph.D., 1997, University of Wisconsin-Madison Technical Communications, Engineering Pedagogy mparetti@vt.edu (540) 231-7520
Norman E. Dowling Norman E. Dowling, PE
Professor, MSE & ESM
Ph.D., 1972, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign Mechanical Behavior of Materials, Fatigue, Fracture ndowling@vt.edu (540) 231-5399
Gary R. Pickrell Gary R. Pickrell
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., 1994, Virginia Tech Photonics, Porous Materials, Biologically Derived Nanoscale Materials pickrell@vt.edu (540) 231-3504
Diana Farkas Diana Farkas
Professor
Ph.D., 1980, University of Delaware Simulation, Intermetallic Alloys, Defect Structures, Interfaces, Diffusion diana@vt.edu (540) 231-4742
William T. Reynolds, Jr. William T. Reynolds, Jr.
Professor
Ph.D., 1988, Carnegie Mellon University Phase Transformations, Physical Metallurgy reynolds@vt.edu (540) 231-6825
Gerald V. Gibbs Gerald V. Gibbs
University Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., 1962, Pennsylvania State University Mathematical Crystallography, Computer Modeling gvgibbs@vt.edu (540) 231-6330
Dwight D. Viehland Dwight D. Viehland
Professor
Ph.D., 1991, Pennsylvania State University Electrical and Dielectric Properties, Ferroelectrics and Piezoelectrics, Phase Transformations viehland@mse.vt.edu (540) 231-2276
Louis J. Guido Louis J. Guido
Associate Professor, MSE & ECE
Ph.D., 1989, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign Semiconductor Alloys, Quantum Structures, Electronic and Photonic Devices louis.guido@vt.edu (540) 231-3551
Yu Wang Yu Wang
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., 2001, Rutgers University Materials Modeling, Simulation, Microstructure Evolution, Multiferroic Materials yuwang@mse.vt.edu (540) 231-2754
D. P. H. Hasselman D. P. H. Hasselman
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., 1966, University of California, Berkeley Mechanical and Thermal Properties, Stress Fracture hasselmn@vt.edu (540) 231-2284

AFFILIATED AND ADJUNCT PROFESSORS

Romesh C. Batra Romesh C. Batra, Affiliate
Clifton C. Garvin Professor, ESM
Ph.D., 1972, Johns Hopkins University Computational Solid Mechanics, Metal Forming, Smart Materials/Structures, Carbon Nanotubes rbatra@vt.edu (540) 231-6051
Maureen M. Julian Maureen M. Julian, Adjunct
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., 1966, Cornell University Crystallography, Absorption Edges, Epitaxial Relationships erie@vt.edu (540) 231-7123
James R. Heflin James R. Heflin, Affiliate
Associate Professor, Phys
Ph.D., 1990, University of Pennsylvania Organic Optoelectronic Self-Assembled Nanostructures rheflin@vt.edu (540) 231-4504
Ronald G. Kander Ronald G. Kander, Adjunct
Professor and Department Head, ISAT
James Madison University
Ph.D., 1987, University of Delaware Rapid Prototyping and Tooling, Polymer Processing and Characterization kanderrg@jmu.edu (540)568-2740
Robert W. Hendricks Robert W. Hendricks, Affiliate
Professor, ECE
Ph.D., 1987, Cornell University Electronic Materials, Solid State Physics, Semiconductor Processing Robert.Hendricks@vt.edu (540) 231-6917
Michael J. Kelley Michael J. Kelley, Adjunct
Professor, APS
College of William and Mary
Ph.D., 1973, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Polymer Surface Modification by UV or IR Light, Surface Science mikelley@vt.edu (540) 231-8688
Herve Marand Herve Marand, Affiliate
Professor, Chem
Ph.D., 1988, University of Massachusetts Semicrystalline Polymers, Phase Separation in Binary Polymers, Crystallization of Polymers in Confined Space hmarand@vt.edu (540) 231-5391
H. Felix Wu H. Felix Wu, Adjunct
ComSci Fellow, Program Manager,
Comp. Civ. Const., CLSO, ATP, NIST
Ph.D., 1988, Cornell University Fibers, Polymers, Composites, Structural Monitoring, Interfaces, Lifetime Prediction felix.wu@nist.gov (301) 975-4685
Roe-Hoan Yoon Roe-Hoan Yoon, Affiliate
Nicolas T. Camicia Professor, MinE
Dir., Center for Advanced Separation Technologies
Ph.D., 1977, McGill University Surface Forces, Electrochemistry, Column Flotation, Coal Cleaning and Dewatering ryoon@vt.edu (540) 231-7056

RESEARCH FACULTY AND INSTRUCTORS

Christine B. Burgoyne Christine B. Burgoyne
Assistant Director, MSE/ESM Engineering
Communication Program
M.A, 2001, Virginia Tech Global and Engineering Communications, Critical Discourse Analysis cbala@vt.edu (540) 231-5305
Jie-Fang Li Jie-Fang Li
Research Associate Professor
Ph.D., 1992, Pennsylvania State University Properties and Applications of Multi-functional Materials jiefang@vt.edu (540) 231-6928
Shuxiang Dong Shuxiang Dong
Research Scientist
Ph.D., 1993, Tsinghua University Piezoelectric Micromotors, Actuators, Magnetic Sensors, Gas Sensors and Acoustic Transducers. sdong@mse.vt.edu (540) 231-2327
Sean P. Mc Ginnis Sean P. Mc Ginnis
Senior Research Scientist, MSE & BSE
Director, Green Engineering
Ph.D., 1995, Stanford University Green Engineering, Sustainable Manufacturing, Thin Film Adhesion, Biomimetic Materials ctas@vt.edu (540) 231-7043
LeeAnn C. Ellis LeeAnn C. Ellis
Research Associate
Public Relations Specialist
B.El.Ed., 1985, Virginia Tech mse@vt.edu (540) 231-6777
Kathleen L. Rohr Kathleen L. Rohr
Instructor
M.S., 1986, Virginia Tech Materials Characterization, Failure Analysis krohr@vt.edu (540) 552-3742
Diane C. Folz Diane C. Folz
Senior Research Associate
B.S., 1987, University of Florida Microwave Processing, Ceramics, Waste Re-mediation and Recycling, Surface Modification dfolz@vt.edu (540) 231-3897
Thomas W. Staley Thomas W. Staley
Instructor
Ph.D., 2000, Virginia Tech Crystallography, Modeling of Dynamical Diffraction, Acoustics Science and Technology Studies tstaley@vt.edu (540) 231-6547
Joerg R. Jinschek Joerg R. Jinschek
Research Assistant Professor, MSE & GeoS
Ph.D. (Dr.rer.nat.), 2001, Friedrich-Schiller-University Jena, Germany High-resolution TEM, Electron Spectroscopy, Semiconductors jrjinschek@vt.edu (540) 231-6640
Carlos T.A. Suchicital Carlos T.A. Suchicital
Research Associate Professor
Facilities Manager
Ph.D., 1988, University of Illinois Rapid Prototyping, Microelectronics, Microwaves, Ceramics ctas@vt.edu (540) 231-7043

STAFF

David W. Berry David W. Berry
Senior Facilities Technician
dwberry@vt.edu (540) 231-5873
Tracey J. Keister Tracey J. Keister
Office Manager
tkeister@vt.edu (540) 231-9469
Jan L. Doran Jan L. Doran
Undergraduate Services Coordinator
jandoran@vt.edu (540) 231-1768
Susette W. Sowers Susette W. Sowers
Program Support Technician and
Graduate Services Coordinator
susette@vt.edu (540) 231-3178
Catherine E. Fisher Catherine E. Fisher
Business Services Assistant
cfisher@mse.vt.edu (540) 231-6640
Peter J. West Peter J. West
Information Tech Specialist, MSE & MinE
pjwest@vt.edu (540) 231-5817
Amy G. Hill Amy G. Hill
Business Manager
amyhill@vt.edu (540) 231-9125